Colour of Couture – Week 1

It has been an intensive but fun first week in the Colour of Couture (CoC) Top Model Competition.

Immediately follow the announcement of the sixteen finalists, we were given instructions to style for four events. Two of which are for our weekly theme challenge and two for photoshoots of advertisement, so there were four stylings to complete in one week.

Our first challenge took place last Saturday (April 7) on the runway showcasing our styles and runway skills for the “Pyjamas Party” theme.   This is not a typical pyjamas party that most people have in mind like bring-your-curls and fluffy rabbit shoes or dress in your Victoria Secret kind of styling.  The theme actually means “going out” pyjamas for evening wear which I have learned is one of this Spring/Summer fashion trend.

It was really interesting to scout for a decent pyjamas look alike top, as well as all others that fulfill the theme.  I have to say it wasn’t easy to put the entire look together and matching the colours so I went for the best option I had, given the time and financial constraints.

…..and here are my week 1 stylings.

THEME: PYJAMAS PARTY (RUNWAY CHALLENGE)

Pyjamas Party

I found the pyjamas look alike top from Bare Rose, a brand that I have sworned by for years, and paired it with the most slouchy trouser that is made of mesh, plus a black dress jacket from Lelutka.  I also added a little of my own touch by wearing a bathing cap.  I took red color from the pyjamas collar and match it with the cap.  As accessory should be minimal for this theme, I have only worn the LaGyo Papillion Red Heart ring which is not shown in the above picture.  The eyeshadow choosen was intended to create this dark circles and puffy eyes effect which I hope was seen that way to the judges, and wearing just very light lipstick balancing the makeup.  My Styling Card below.

STYLE CARD

Head dress: Lady Who Lunch Couture Bathing Cap

Shirt & Scarf: Bare Rose QuizeMaster Lady Blue/Pink Set

Jacket: [LeL.Ultra]-PRISON jacket

Pants: [celoe.lolong.trousers.charade

Rings: LaGyo_Popillia ring red heart

Shoes: N-core COQUETTE “Black”

Eyeshadow:  Cheap Makeup-Eye Smoke

Eyelashes: Miamai_Catwalk Lashes_Star

…………………………………………………………………………

THEME: SOFT BUT FIERCE (FACESHOT)

The second styling we did was for a faceshot which we will later see on the Colour of Couture (CoC website and all it’s communication channels.  This faceshot will be used by the Organizer throughout the competition.

The instruction for this styling was to keep our look soft but fierce.  Easy yet not so easy to achieve in my opinion.

Though this is just a faceshot, I did an overall styling to complete the look.  I like to thank NyuNyu Kimono in sponsoring me her clothing in this competition.  I truly appreciate her kindness and supports.  It helps alot to know there are many whom believe in me and would like to see me succeed and I promise I will do my best.

I have choosen to wear a long and wavy hair for the headshot and to keep my look soft and clean, I wore a white dress and paired it with a simple pearl necklace.  This time I let my lip speaks a little more so I wore a red lipstick and a different eyebrow.  No smiling face in this case.  I hope my look has came across as soft but fierce.

Styling for faceshot - Soft but fierce

STYLE CARD

Hair: 69 Jessica 02 Dark Mocha

Dress: NYU Debut Michelle Dress – Nude

Necklace: *League* Double Stranded Soft Pearl Necklace (tinted)

Bracelet: Donna Flora Princess set (tinted)

Eyeshadow: *elymode* makeup – smoke frost – 1

Eye lashes: [LeLutka]-2011 lashes/natur

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

THEME: STYLING FOR PRISM (PHOTOSHOOT)

Each finalist was assigned a different clothing sponsor by PRISM and we have to style around the assigned piece for a photoshoot.  The photos will be made into advertisement for promo of the CoC.  It is free styling in this case so it is up our own interpretations.

The piece that was assigned to me was a beautiful one piece mesh dress called Prism Crystal Mesh Dress – Solar Flare.  As the name suggested, this dress has a very vibrant brown/orange base and prints with yellow and pink stripes at the bottom of the dress.  I accessorized around the dress keeping in mind that the styling should present the dress in the best possible way and not over shadowing it.  That’s what modeling is about anyway.   With that in mind, I took colours from the dress and this is the result.

Styling for PRISM Crystal Mesh Dress - Solar Flare

STYLE CARD

Hair: booN TUN247 hair brown

Sunglass: Maitreya Mesh Jackie O Sunglasses

Collar and shoulder accessory: .SHI Paper (tinted)

Dress: Prism Crystal Mesh Dress Size 3 – Solar Flare

Necklace: FINESMITH- SPRING 2012 NECKLACE

Bag: Tee*fy Street Parker Shoulder Bag Illustration (reattach and adjusted as hand held bag)

Boots: Maitreya Mesh * Devi Booties XS Redwood

Gloves: LaGyo_Zarema gloves Cornsilk

Lipstick: *Fishy Strawberry* Makeup – Allure -Faded Lipstick Brick

…………………………………………………………………….

THEME: AFROCENTRIC (FLICKR CHALLENGE)

This is for our second week styling challenge.  It will be a photo challenge on flickr as the objective is to see how we look and present the style on print.  As the photographer needs time to complete the photos and have them ready by April 13 on CoC’s flickr, so the judges could do their scoring by next Saturday, April 14, we had to complete our styling and photoshoot this week.  Check out our first photo challenge here from April 13 and onwards.  My style Card will be available thereafter.

Meanwhile, stay tuned for more as I share about Southeast Asia and introduce some RL beauty from the Southeast Asia to you. 🙂

To get to know more about me and the CoC Competition, visit the CoC website here!

Happy Easter and have a great week ahead everyone!

Share Your Thoughts Here

